Top 3 Reasons People Reject Esports

Originally published at: https://esportsone.com/blog/reasons-people-reject-esports/

I don’t need to tell you how massive the numbers behind the esports industry have become, but what are the reasons people reject esports? We have all seen the crazy graphs have been thrown around everybody’s LinkedIn and click bait articles. I do think that people will be able to accept esports as a legitimate for of entertainment. However, I still do not think people have accepted esports at this point in time. I have put together the Top 3 reasons people reject esports article to try and debunk some of the negative arguments out there.

Before working for Esports One, my life/passion/career was all in traditional sports. I majored in Sport Management and had a great start to my career as I worked within the NFL, MLB, and NBA. In 2014, my brother introduced me to esports, and my initial reaction was disgust that he used a form of the word ‘sports’ to reference a video game. But then after learning more about esports, I was fully bought in. And now here I am… Five years later and have been working in esports the whole time.

For me, it was the realization of a couple of aspects linking traditional sports and esports, which resulted in me having an epiphany about competitive scenes as a whole. I believe that the realization of these principles would help others fully accept the competitive esports industry too.

The Reasons People Reject Esports:

1. Less Skill than Traditional Sports

“They are just pushing buttons on a keyboard and clicking a mouse… I could do that.”

Yes, yes, you can do that. You can also throw a baseball 90 feet, catch a football and kick a soccer ball, but I don’t hear you shaming Christiano Ronaldo.

One of the significant aspects of sports is that they are replicable by the general public. I can go to a gym, chuck up a step-back jumper, and pretend to be James Harden.